TheTestTube.com  

Go Back   TheTestTube.com > TTTechnology > Computers
User Name
Password
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Computers Ask about your system/software issues here, or discuss the latest in the field.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2005, 07:15 PM   #1
GT2000
Playing God @ Your Xpense
 
GT2000's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Va Beach, Va
Posts: 2,027
GT2000 has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to GT2000
Turn your computer on, got no post (beeps), error code on board, etc?

Open up your case and have a looksie, my Mom was complaining how the monitor wasn't coming on, the mouse light wasn't coming on (optical), etc. I booted it up, drives turned, no post, C1 error on an Epox mobo (supposedly memory problem, but, nah...).

So I pull the case, have a quick look, and I counted 5 capacitors that had blown (showing signs of leaking), and several more with bulging tops, which are ready to blow up.

Check out http://www.badcaps.net for more info, I'm not putting this on the front page because it is extremely bad news, but I figured I'd still share my new experience with it, the board is...maybe a year to a year and a half old, but newer boards than that are being found with the bad caps. The site sells kits if you feel like desoldering about 15-20 caps, and soldering in new ones, me, I'm lazy, I'll buy a new board to throw in there, and maybe use it as an excuse to upgrade a system in my farm to a more current setup.

I'll take a zoomed pic later of the board.
__________________
Hop in, strap down, and hold on tight.
GT2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2005, 04:29 PM   #2
GT2000
Playing God @ Your Xpense
 
GT2000's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Va Beach, Va
Posts: 2,027
GT2000 has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to GT2000
The blown caps have been circled, you can see others are bulging but haven't yet broken open.

__________________
Hop in, strap down, and hold on tight.
GT2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2005, 06:47 PM   #3
Metallistar
Moderator
 
Metallistar's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wakeman, OH
Posts: 320
Metallistar is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Metallistar
I had the same thing happen to an epox 8rda+ Looks to be the same board. Its funny cause if i remember right, it was the same exact caps.. even the one on the lower right. I figured it was because I was running it at 2.0 volts for about 4 months straight.
__________________

1997 GTP & 1998 GTX
http://www.metallistar.com
Metallistar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 03:16 AM   #4
thecreeper
Administrator
 
thecreeper's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 2,330
thecreeper is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to thecreeper
all i have to say is...yikes.
__________________
good-evil.net - ahh, wade boggs...goes down smooth.
thecreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 12:01 PM   #5
GT2000
Playing God @ Your Xpense
 
GT2000's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Va Beach, Va
Posts: 2,027
GT2000 has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to GT2000
Lol...I wasn't running THAT high on the voltage...I forget to be honest...have an 1800+ T-bred running at 2.0ghz in it. I have an Albatron replacement coming in Friday, should be able to solely replace the board and be good, I'll let ya know..
__________________
Hop in, strap down, and hold on tight.
GT2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 04:26 PM   #6
GT2000
Playing God @ Your Xpense
 
GT2000's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Va Beach, Va
Posts: 2,027
GT2000 has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to GT2000
Wewt, got the new board in today, so I went ahead and installed it. System booted up no problem, so I went ahead and put back the exact same overclock I had been running before with the same volts (I think at least...heh). Might have to go ahead and reload the OS...it's needed it for a while, and now that there's a new mobo in, with a slightly different chipset..eh, might not play nice with the current install.
__________________
Hop in, strap down, and hold on tight.
GT2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 11:59 PM   #7
Thatsmypunk
Junior Member
 
Thatsmypunk's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 16
Thatsmypunk is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Thatsmypunk
Seems like some older Via boards we used to sell at work have a problem with blown capacitors.
Thatsmypunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright

Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird!