PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft released

raublekick
10-26-2006, 09:57 AM
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/EdgyAnnouncement

yeah! johnny, give me a hi-five bro! WOO! CAN I GET A MANBARK?? UHH!

testtubebaby
10-26-2006, 11:51 AM
what is this geeky shit?

thecreeper
10-28-2006, 09:53 PM
quiet, tubesteakbaby.

rauble came over and helped me install ubuntu last night. this is my first time alone in a linux environment. kinda scary.

johnny
10-29-2006, 03:39 PM
got edgy fired up today. it's nice. i like upstart, and gnome 2.16 is alright. (still holding out for kde4..)

raublekick
10-29-2006, 03:49 PM
got edgy fired up today. it's nice. i like upstart, and gnome 2.16 is alright. (still holding out for kde4..)

right on. KDE 4 is going to make it very hard to choose an DE.

johnny
10-29-2006, 07:50 PM
i've done a bit of googling on upstart, but there doesn't seem to be much out there.. or on the ubuntu forums or wiki. any idea how to make it more verbose while booting up?? i thought maybe hitting f2 during boot would do it, but no such luck.

raublekick
10-29-2006, 08:08 PM
i've done a bit of googling on upstart, but there doesn't seem to be much out there.. or on the ubuntu forums or wiki. any idea how to make it more verbose while booting up?? i thought maybe hitting f2 during boot would do it, but no such luck.

i've been wondering the same, but no luck finding anything

johnny
10-31-2006, 08:13 PM
aha! in the file /boot/grub/menu.lst there is a line:
# defoptions=quiet splashremove the word "quiet" (root privileges required to do the edit), and run
sudo update-grub

(credit goes to the person who responded to my thread on ubuntu forums..)

sharkz
11-01-2006, 07:59 PM
Not planning to upgrade yet, unless I find a convenient spare 80-gig or so drive to back up onto first. Based on slashdot's story about messy upgrades. Unless you guys can debunk that.

johnny
11-01-2006, 10:23 PM